Saskatoon, Saskatchewan


In the Canadian province of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon is the largest city.  Saskatoon straddles the South Saskatchewan River and is considered the region’s cultural and economic hub. The most recent census estimates Saskatoon’s population as 295,095, the 17th largest CMA in Canada.

Some of the many nicknames include Paris of the Prairies, Toon Town, S’Toon, Hub City, POW City, The City of Bridges, Science City and Saskabush.

Saskatoon is home to the University of Saskatchewan, the Meewasin Valley Authority which protects the South Saskatchewan River and provides for the city’s popular riverbank park spaces, and Wanuskewin Heritage Park, a National Historic Site of Canada representing 6,000 years of First Nations history. The Rural Municipality of Corman Park No. 344, the most populous rural municipality in Saskatchewan, surrounds the city and contains many of the developments associated with it, including Wanuskewin.